12 Comments
Mar 27, 2021Liked by Owen Wiseman

“The End of Mr. Y” by Scarlett Thomas. I deep dive into subconscious and fate and if we were able to navigate it. Such a surprising and interesting read. I had never heard of the author and haven’t read any of her other books, but man was this one good!

Expand full comment
author

Awesome, thanks. :) Haven't read it... yet!

Expand full comment
founding
Mar 21, 2021Liked by Owen Wiseman

My favorite is HG Wells' Time Machine. Definitely hold up over the test of time. - Richard Thiele

Expand full comment
author

And a huge amount of conceptual science fiction never would have been written without it!

Expand full comment
Mar 21, 2021Liked by Owen Wiseman

One of my favs growing up was Enemy Mine. Have you seen it?

Expand full comment
author

I haven't! But OMG I just looked it up, and Dennis Quaid opposite Lou Gosset Jr.? I am in! Thanks for the idea!

Expand full comment

“The Secret History of Twin Peaks: A Novel” written by Mark Frost is a sci-fi filled with fun from the past and a great asset to help digest the Twin Peaks TV series. Mind bending at times 😉

Expand full comment
author

I love this and also I think I need to re-watch Twin Peaks first! I haven't seen it in maybe 20 years?

Expand full comment

We've been reading the fantasies of white men for a few thousand years. Time to experience some new fantasies, right? I feel like we're currently in a golden age of fantasy and sci because of the major contributions being made by female and non-white authors. It feels like everything is new again, and we don't have a bunch of young men reliving colonial fantasies.

Some favorites:

The Broken Earth Trilogy by NK Jemisin

Black Leopard, Red Wolf by Marlon James

The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones (horror is close enough to fantasy?)

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix Harrow

The new translations of Legends of the Condor Heroes by Jin Yong

All Systems Red by Martha Wells

A Song for a New Day by Sarah Pinsker

Space Opera by Catherynne Valente

The Power by Naomi Alderman

Remembrance of Earth's Past trilogy by Cixin Liu

But if I had to choose my very favorite thing in all of sci-fi and fantasy it would have to be Ann Leckie writing from the perspective of a being with multiple perspectives in the central scenes of Ancillary Justice and The Raven Tower. And Ancillary Justice remains my favorite sci-fi novel.

Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames is my favorite fantasy novel. When I wasn't laughing or crying, I was actually cheering the heroes on.

Expand full comment
author

Okay now that's a list! I'll return to this again, I'm sure, but for now I'm going to order Ancillary Justice and see what that's all about. The only one of yours I've actually read is Broken Earth Trilogy, which, I mean, *explodinghead.gif*

Thanks for the recos!

Expand full comment
founding

OK, read this with an open mind. My favorite fantasy movie is Mary Poppins. Think about it. There is flying with an umbrella, bedrooms that clean themselves, and best of all was when Mary, Bert and the kids jumped into a chalk drawing and entered a totally different world. It is one of the few kids' movies I have seen as an adult and still enjoyed. Diana Boyle

Expand full comment
author

Yes to this! Hadn't really thought about it before but Mary Poppins is totally fantasy! They even go into a special world in the middle of it inside the chalk drawings, don't they?

Expand full comment